## **CITY OF WESTMINSTER**

#### MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

At the Meeting of the Council of the City of Westminster held at 7.00pm on Wednesday 15 May 2013 at Westminster Council House, Marylebone Road, NW1

#### **PRESENT**

The Lord Mayor, Councillor Angela Harvey and then, on being elected, Councillor Sarah Richardson

# **COUNCILLORS**

Acton, Heather

Abdel-Hamid, Ahmed

Adams, Ian Aiken, Nicola Argar, Edward Astaire, Daniel Baxter, Edward Beddoe, Richard

Bott, lain

Boothroyd, David, MA Bradley, Alan, MA, FIA

Burbridge, Susie Bush, Ruth Caplan, Melvyn Chalkley, Danny Connell, Brian Cox, Antonia

Davis, Robert, MA (Cantab), DL

Devenish, Anthony Dimoldenberg, Paul D'Souza, Sheila Evans, Nicholas Flight, Christabel Floru, Jean-Paul Glanz, Jonathan Grahame, Barbara

Hall, Lindsey

Harvey, David

Havery, Andrew, FCA, CISA, MCT, ATTII

Hug, Adam Hyams, Louise Lewis, Audrey McAllister, Patricia McKie, Guthrie Mitchell, Tim Moss, Alastair Mukerji, Nilavra

Nemeth, Dr Cyril, MBE, MA, MRCGP, JP, MRCP

Prendergast, Jan Qureshi, Papya Rahuja, Suhail Rigby, Robert Robathan, Rachael Roe, Philippa Rowley, Ian Smith, Andrew Summers, Steve Taylor, Barrie

Thomson, Cameron

Toki, Aziz

Tombolis, Frixos Warner, Judith Yarker, Nicholas

#### 1. ELECTION OF LORD MAYOR

Proposed by Councillor Daniel Astaire and seconded by Councillor Nick Yarker that Councillor Sarah Richardson be elected Lord Mayor of Westminster for the ensuing year.

Proposed by Councillor Paul Dimoldenberg and seconded by Councillor David Boothroyd that Councillor Papya Qureshi be elected Lord Mayor of Westminster for the ensuing year.

Upon a show of hands, the Lord Mayor declared that Councillor Sarah Richardson had been elected as Lord Mayor.

**RESOLVED:** That Councillor Sarah Richardson be elected Lord Mayor of Westminster for the ensuing year.

Councillor Sarah Richardson thereupon made and subscribed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office of Lord Mayor and of the Office of Deputy High Steward of Westminster. Having done so, she took the Chair and thanked the Council for her election and reported that Mr Damian Collins, MP would be her Consort.

#### 2. MINUTES

The minutes of the Council meeting held on 1 May 2013 were, with the assent of the Members present, signed by the Lord Mayor as a true record.

#### 3. APPOINTMENT OF LORD MAYOR'S CHAPLAIN

The Lord Mayor announced that she had appointed The Rev Joanna Jepson as her Chaplain. The Chaplain then led the Council in a moment of reflection.

# 4. PRESENTATION OF PAST LORD MAYOR'S BADGE AND OTHER INSIGNIA

The Lord Mayor, on behalf of the Council, presented Councillor Angela Harvey with a past Lord Mayor's badge and the Vote of Thanks on Vellum as agreed by the Council at its previous meeting and also presented a past Lord Mayor's Consort badge to Councillor David Harvey. Councillor Angela Harvey thanked the Council on behalf of herself and Councillor David Harvey.

#### 5. LORD MAYOR'S COMMUNICATIONS

The Lord Mayor informed the Council than the Annual Civic Service would be held at Westminster Abbey at 11.00am on Sunday 7 July 2013 and informed everyone present that they were welcome to attend.

# 6. CONSTITUTIONAL ISSUES

The report of the Head of Legal and Democratic Services was submitted.

The Lord Mayor put the recommendations, as set out in the report, to the vote and on a show of hands declared the recommendations to be **AGREED.** 

## **RESOLVED:**

(1) That the recommendations set out in the report be agreed.

## 7. CLOSE OF MEETING

The meeting ended at 8.0	07pm	١.
--------------------------	------	----

CHAIRMAN: DA	NTE:
--------------	------